Toronto Arts Council Appoints Two New Grants Officers

Toronto Arts Council welcomes two new staff members.

Rupal Shah is the new Grants Officer, Strategic Programs, responsible for developing and supporting TAC’s partnership programs and managing the Open Door grants program.  Rupal brings over 14 years of experience in the arts and culture sector, working with organizations such as Summerworks Performance Festival, Nightswimming Theatre, DVxT Theatre and Obsidian Theatre. She was a member of the Canadian delegation to the 2015 IETM Plenary (international network for contemporary performing arts) in Italy and is a member of the George Cedric Metcalf Foundation’s Advisory Committee for the Creative Strategies Incubator.
Isidra Cruz is the new Grants Officer, Indigenous Arts Projects, responsible for the management of the Indigenous Arts Projects program. Isidra is a Mexican, Cree, African American, and French arts administrator and costume designer. She is a graduate of Ryerson University’s Theatre Production program where she received a BFA with Honours, specializing in theatre administration and costume design/construction.  Isidra has focused her attentions on working in the Indigenous arts community. Through her work with imagineNATIVE Film + Media Arts Festival she has helped to educate the general Canadian public on issues facing the Indigenous population of Canada. In her new role as Grants Officer, she will have the opportunity to assist Indigenous artists and arts organizations to develop successful funding proposals for their work.
TAC also congratulates Timea Wharton-Suri, Grants Officer for Dance and Literary Arts programs, who willl be on maternity leave from late May through December 2016.  Natasha Powell will be the Interim Grants Officer for TAC’s Dance and Literary Arts programs, covering the period of Timea’s maternity leave.  Natasha is an experienced arts administrator and dance artist. Most recently she has been the Manager, Producing and Administration, at the Dance Umbrella of Ontario.
Rupal Shah,, 416-392-6802 ext. 209
Isidra Cruz will assume her duties on May 10, 2016
Natasha Powell will assume her duties on May 24, 2016